Go Back   Virtual Sheet Music Forums > Classical Music Discussions > Instruments > Flute
User Name or E-Mail Address
Password

Old 04-05-2007, 05:12 AM
Junior Registered User

Default Questions on the Techniques Ian Anderson uses

I've been playing flute for five years now, and I'm stuck in a bit of a rut. I've got a clean, crisp sound and am able to infuse "emotion" into a piece, but I'm also a big fan of music by the rock band Jethro Tull.

The tones and techniques that Ian Anderson uses to make his sound are eluding me. I am a huge fan of his "dirty" sound quality, and I've been trying and trying and trying to produce the same sound on my own instrument. I think what I need is someone to at least point me in the right direction, so I know where to begin. The only thing I have been able to really do is flutter tongue, which I don't find all that difficult.

I need any help I can get, so I will politely ask anyone reading to bear with me as I use my limited knowledge of terminology to describe some of the things he does and ask questions.

1. "Growling" is a term I've heard. I know a little about it. I'm thinking it's a noise made in the back of the throat, mixing voice with instrumental sound? Can anyone describe to me how this is done?

2. There is an airy, rough quality to the way Anderson plays. It's almost...earthy in a way. It sounds less smooth than what I normally play and hear, being in a high school marching band, and I've been attempting to emulate this tone myself. However, it's like there's a missing piece of information in my brain that's not allowing it to click. Does anyone else know how to produce this sound? How is it done?

3. At some points in Anderson's music, his notes have almost a doubled quality, like two notes being played on top of each other, but it's harmonic. Can anyone explain what that is and how it's done?