Go Back   Virtual Sheet Music Forums > Classical Music Discussions > Instruments > Violin
User Name or E-Mail Address
Password

Old 05-19-2005, 01:39 AM
Junior Registered User

Default Buying My First Violin

Hey! I'm extremely interested in learning how to play the violin (I have no experience playing whatsoever), and so I've been looking around for a variety of different types of violins for a while now. I'm 15 years-old, and so I know I'm a full size. The problem, though, is that I'm not sure exactly what kind of violin I should start with.

The first place I went, Sam Ash, said that it would probably be smartest for me to buy a decent student-based violin for about $500. The violin itself is an ARS Music model 026, Maple front and back (two-piece), and it comes with the bow and case. It's brand new, has four fine-tuners, and is overall a very nice-looking violin.

I've been to a number of stores since then, however, and I've been hearing various different things. from numerous people. For one, I've been told that as a beginner, I should start with a basic violin in the mere $150 price range. It'll take me time to learn how to use it, they say, and that once my ear thoroughly develops I should trade in the cheaper one and buy the more expensive, higher quality ones - ones similar to the $500 violin I had first looked at.

If I was to buy one for $150, use it for a year, and then trade it in to buy the $500 ones, I would actually be losing money compared to starting off with the better one. If I want to go for a /different/ one all together, though, maybe I would benefit from that? I don't think I would have to worry about paying $500 and then casting the entire violin aside... I'm very enthusiastic about the whole idea and I'm sure I won't just let it pass after a few months.