Go Back   Virtual Sheet Music Forums > Classical Music Discussions > Instruments > Violin
User Name or E-Mail Address
Password

Old 05-25-2006, 06:05 PM
Junior Registered User

Smile Electric or acoustic violin???

Hello everyone!I am new to this forum so I want to ask you some questions.
I am 17 years old and i am seriously thinking about starting violin lessons.
I have been playing the guitar for about 5 years so i have a little experience in music.I can take lessons for only 3 months in summer because then i will have to start school again...Is it possible to learn the basics in three months???
Another question is about what kind of violin to buy....
I want to buy an electric violin so i will be able to practise silently with headphones.I also have many guitar proccesors and effect units so i can plug the electric violin into them and get some good sounds.I can pay up to 1000-1200 euros.I want you to tell me if an electric violin can produce good acoustic sounds too.And what brand of electric violin to buy(is Antoni electric violin good???)Thanks

Sorry for my bad English,i am Greek you see...
Old 05-25-2006, 07:56 PM
CEO

Hello savaoth.

About your question to learn the basics in three months, yes, with a good teacher you can do it.

The choice of the violin depends by your "purpose". If you want to study violin just for fun, of course I suggest you to go ahead with your idea to buy an electric violin. Otherwise, if you are serious about it and whish to become a professional or play together with other people, I would suggest a traditional violin. It's completely different by the electric one.

About the brand and kind of electric violin, I am sorry, I'm not an expert about electric violins, maybe someone else can help you on that way.

Just my thoughts... my best wishes for your violin learning!

Sincerely,
Fabrizio
Old 05-26-2006, 11:31 AM
Junior Registered User

Smile

Thanks for your answer.